Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Conquer Your Closet – Part Deux

About six months ago, I wrote a blog about clearing out and organizing your closet (Conquer Your Closet). Typically, after I write a post, I pester my husband to see if he’s read it. Well, he showed me. When I got home that night, he had flipped all my hangers around. “Practice what you preach,” he said. You see, in my previous post, I wrote that it is handy to flip your hangers around, then when you wear an item, you turn the hanger the right way around again. In six months you’ll have a very good picture as to what you wear, and what you may want to look at again. So, here I am, and here’s my closet six months ago, and today:

Six Months Ago

Today

So, there you have it. I counted and I have 16 hangers that are still reversed. Now, for the record, I have been letting go of clothing items that aren’t right for me, so I’ve been able to maintain the amount of clothing I have, for the most part. Here are the items that haven’t seen the light of day in the last 6 months:

Yes, there’s a disco shirt there, and yes, there’s a Hawaiian shirt, too, but since my husband and I work with the youth at our church, you need a couple of choice items that only see the light of day once in a while (notice I said “couple”, not “3 or 4 choices per occasion”). I have taken my forlorn items, and grouped them together, at the front of my closet. I see a few of them going in the next little while, and a couple being worn in the near future, as well. I’ve also trimmed down a bit since my last purge, so perhaps these items will fit better than last time.

There are a few benefits to having less:

1. Less laundry – You won’t let it sit around and pile up if you need a pair of underoos.

2. Quicker decision making – Less choices makes getting dressed in the morning much more efficient. Unless you lay out what you wear the night before… but I don’t πŸ™‚

3. Someone else is blessed by your things – My friends regularly pass on their items to me, and I love it! They’re new to me, but they’re tired of them. Give your clothes a new chance to make someone else feel good.

We’ll see the condition of my closet when I get home tonight… I’m weary πŸ˜›

How do you decide how much clothing is enough?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sharon says:

    if i go on a “shopping spree” to buy clothes, i have a rule one piece in, one piece out

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  2. * marijke54 says:

    Because I’ve purged my closet and keep up with the laundry I know what I have. My husband and I went for a drive this afternoon, stopped in a nice little town and checked out the shops. I saw a few cute tops and was tempted, but then realized that I have enough tops in my closet, one was the same colour scheme that was hanging in the store. Before decluttering I would have purchased the top with the idea that it will come in handy, now the extra space in my closet is more important to me than an extra top.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
    • Thanks for sharing! You probably take the same approach as Sharon: One in, one out πŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  3. I did a major clothes purging, and since then I kept my wardrobe pared down pretty well. I haven’t added anything but a couple pairs of pants and a shirt since then (not counting underwear or socks).

    The easiest thing to get rid of was a small laundry basket that was home to about 100 unmatched socks. I found about 5 pairs and then tossed the rest.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  4. * sthaler says:

    I have become a minimalist over the last few years. I continue downsizing my stuff and find the more I downsize the better my outlook on life.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
    • I completely agree. I, too, have found that as I help people purge their belongings, I’m less attached to mine. And yes, it does help you to appreciate life a bit more πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago


What are your thoughts?

