Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Souvenirs

I know that this is over a week late, but HAPPY CANADA DAY!!! The reason for my tardiness for my blog post is that my hubby took me to Ottawa (the capital of Canada) for the Canada Day festivities. We had a wonderful time, and even got to eat poutine and a beaver tail on Parliament Hill.

Being first time in Ottawa, so we tried to see as much as we could. After watching the Changing of the Guard, we learned about the history of the War of 1812 (200th anniversary this year), and enjoyed a concert. We then proceeded to get free samples, and visit Rideau Hall. We tried to get into the Royal Canadian Mint, however we got there too late, so we went later on in the week. Our Canada Day finished off with a fun concert, and an impressive fireworks display (some were in the shape of a maple leaf!).

I would like to share a fun Canadian fact with you, which has left me proud since I heard about it. As some of you may know, we hosted the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver (remember? The one with no snow? 😛 ). All of the medals were designed and made at the Royal Canadian Mint in Ottawa (we have a second in Winnipeg, Manitoba where our currency is made). The medals were quite unique, and had a wavy texture (not easily visible in the photo, sorry):

2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Medals – Source: Canadian Olympic Committee

What I didn’t know was that the medals were all unique, and when placed together, would create an image of an Orca (for the Olympics) and a Raven (for the Paralympics). The orca is a strong animal, one that lives in a community. The raven signifies overcoming obstacles, which I am certain many of the Paralymians can identify with. Also, this was the first time in the history of the Olympics that the size of the medals for the Olympics were the same size as those for the Paralympics (Go Canada!).

Now that I’ve expanded your Canadian history, let me ask you a question: Do you buy souvenirs when you go on vacation? We’ve bought a couple of things here and there, but we have never been into the kitschy souvenirs. You know the ones. I live in Toronto, and near Niagara Falls – if you can put an image on it, they’ll sell it. You can get t-shirts, magnets, shot glasses, surf boards, statues, postcards – you name it! Apparently, there’s even a book dedicated to it called Crap Souvenirs!

So, let me speak on behalf of your loved ones: Please refrain from buying tacky souvenirs that will fall apart in the not-near-enough future. Some are tasteful, I can agree to that. But more often than not, they’re just plain ugly. Let’s not encourage clutter, eh? 😀 (You had to see that one being worked in here somewhere, right?)

What’s the worst souvenir you’ve either seen, or received?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * shecleansup says:

    I had to laugh when I saw there is a book called crap souvenirs! I enjoy traveling and normally tell my friends they won’t be getting any souvenirs. Case in point, I have recently found many plastic keychains from my childhood which don’t have any place in my life except the junk drawer. In recent years I have started buying unique pottery and items that I can put on my walls. It’s fun that they all have a cool stories behind them and I can decorate my house with meaningful items that make me smile each time I see them!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • Thanks for sharing 🙂 We got a Christmas Ornament when we went on our honeymoon, but we try to keep it to a minimum, too 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


What are your thoughts?

