Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Card Conundrum

What do you do with cards? I was challenged by a client the other day, who likes to keep all the cards she has received over the years. As you can imagine, there are a LOT of cards that need to be stored. So, I got to thinking, what do I do with them?

When I was a teenager, I would keep all my cards. As I entered university, I decided that I would keep only the cards that I really loved, and that could be added to my “pick me up” box – a box filled with things to give me a little “pick me up” when needed. When I got married, I did away with the box, and only keep a few, select cards now (note to self: get a memory box to house such cards – my dresser drawer is not sufficient).

Christmas cards are interesting in our house. As you may know, my hubby and I are Christians, so my Mom gave me a great idea (she probably read it on one of the blogs she follows): put them in a basket, and pray for one person each night.

On January 1st, I take all the old cards, cut off the front, and give them to a person at our church who sends them over to Africa (if they haven’t been written on) – they use them as Sunday School prizes. The new batch of Christmas cards go in the box, and we’re all set for the next year. That way we’ve really been able to enjoy them for a year, and are ready to make way for the new ones 🙂

Then there are the cards from our Wedding:

Having just celebrated our 4th anniversary this month, I have struggled with what to do with these cards. Every time I went to give them the old “heave ho”, I was overcome by the amount of love we received when we tied the knot. Couple that with reading cards from loved ones who have passed on, and I just couldn’t do it. So, imagine my excitement when I came across a suitable pin on Pinterest. The idea is to bind your cards in such a way that will make them easier to look at. So, I created my own version:

In the original pin, she had made one book, but I have no idea how she fit all those cards in one. Granted, in these books are also our wedding shower cards.

It was very interesting though, when I finally sat down to go through them, I also found sympathy cards (not that we got married, but my father-in-law passed away – just wanted to be clear), thank you notes (address to us, not others), and a Christmas card. It’s amazing how unmarked areas can quickly become a catch all 🙂

What do you do with the cards you receive? Please feel free to also cast your vote on this poll.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Hi Liz,
    I display cards on the occasion and for 2 weeks after and, then, with very much guilt, I throw them out. I take digital photos of the special messages that I know I’ll want to read again.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 12 months ago
    • Thanks Christine 🙂 My parents have simply taken to emailing each other sweet stuff for their special days. Some may think it’s impersonal, they just find it more practical 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 12 months ago
  2. I always feel so bad when having to throw away a card. They’re so damn expensive now a days but they just make everything look a mess.Binding the cards in a little book is a great idea. I should definitely try that. Thanks for the idea!

    http://coordinatedkate.wordpress.com

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 12 months ago
    • Hey Kate! Thanks for the response. I know what you mean. People usually take time to select just the right one, and they are pricey, too. Let me know how your “book” goes 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  3. * jenfletcher says:

    I have two sturdy fabric-covered boxes; a little taller than photo boxes and much stronger. One is for “my” cards (some from long ago) and one for cards my husband and I have given each other. I try to display cards for a couple of weeks, too, and then make a choice to either pitch it or save it: the more written inside, the more likely I am to keep it. I DO have to go through the boxes occasionally, but that’s a fun job. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
    • That’s just how I am approaching it with my client. Thanks for the input!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  4. I have a little red decorative box, not sure where I got it…but it sits on my dresser like a piece of art. Inside I put all the cards I save. It has tons of room to grow, but I find that I only save the cards that are dearest to my heart. Most are from my parents and now my fiance. I love going through the box when I am down or lonely. It is my little box of happiness. It reminds me just how blessed I truly am.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago


What are your thoughts?

