Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



And I Don’t Iron My Sheets

Last last week, I was folding our laundry, and I got to thinking about my past blog post (I Don’t Like Shopping). It occurred to me that it might have come off a bit pretentious, as I sat there, all high and mighty, screaming for the rooftops my dislike of shopping, and therefore my theoretical lack of clutter.

However, just because I don’t like to shop doesn’t mean I don’t accumulate things. It’s truly amazing the amount of stuff one accumulates simply by living. As many of you know, I’m a Brownie leader with the Girl Guides of Canada. Being in this role means that I am “blessed” with old craft supplies, old Brownie books, and basically a bunch of stuff that other guiders don’t want to have hanging around their house anymore. My husband and I are also part time youth pastors, which means that we have curriculum, party supplies, and forgotten Bibles almost all the time.

Which leads to me to an extension of a previous post, Confessions of a Professional Organizer. Whenever I go to a client’s home, or tell someone that I’m a professional organizer, they will inevitably comment that my home must be pristine, to which my husband usually rolls his eyes, or snorts to indicate that that is certainly not the case. In response, I usually tell people that although I know where almost everything is in my home, it is not “pristine” by any means (unless I’ve had a weekend to actually get some housework done). So, no, I don’t iron my sheets. Actually, in all honesty, I just gave my mother my iron, because in the 4 years I have been married, I haven’t ironed once! Shhh! It’s my dirty little secret. We use the dryer, and try to hang it up right away (which isn’t usually executed as speedily as I would like, but whatcha gonna do?).

So, I apologize to anyone who may have been offended by my last post. That doesn’t mean that I won’t write a post on the global consequences of shopping one day, as I probably will. But, it does mean that although I don’t tend to get tripped up in this area, there are certainly others where I have more difficulty with.

Now, off to swiffer my hardwood floors! Once a month is about right, right?

What tends to clutter your home that you don’t purchase, but simply acquire through life’s activities?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Great post – being an organizer just means I have more stress when my house is cluttered 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Candy S says:

    It is nice to know that I am not the only professional organizer that have a few opportunities in our own homes. Don’t get me wrong, my home is far, far from cluttered, but it could definitely be more organized.
    P.S. You didn’t appear high and mighty to me…. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Candy S says:

    P.S.S. I have never ironed sheets…..

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


What are your thoughts?

