Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



I Don’t Like Shopping

I don’t like shopping. There, I’ve said it. I have many friends, and clients, who enjoy a little (or a lot of) retail therapy here and there, but I just can’t quite seem to wrap my head around it. I can still distinctly remember my last impulse buy, 3 years ago. We had family staying with us, and they had given us some money to contribute toward their share of the groceries. Money doesn’t tend to burn a hole in my pocket, by any means, but as I went out shopping that day, I saw it: Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Edition, on sale for nearly the same amount as I had been given. It was screaming at me, “DEAL! DEAL!” and so I bought it. When I got back, I told my husband, and he nearly fell over. He was just saying to the others that of the 3 of us who went out, I would be the least likely to buy anything (and it’s true!). So, did I use the game? A bit. But it’s collecting dust now… And I was completely disappointed in myself.

I asked him if we should return it. He asked me if I thought I would use it, and enjoy it, and I insisted that I would, so he encouraged me to keep it. But I still felt bad. You see, we are currently debt free (YAY!). When we got married we had some debt, and we wanted to get out from under it. You’ve heard me mention Dave Ramsey before, and we used his methods to snowball ourselves out of the comparatively small mess we were in. This purchase set us back a bit, but I realized then that I really don’t enjoy shopping.

Clothing? Nope. I have a “shapely” figure, so it makes it difficult for me to find jeans that will fit my hips. Toys/Games? Not really. I get bored easily, and I hate to spend money on something that I just won’t use long term. Makeup? I don’t wear any, except for maybe twice a year. Food? Well, that one I don’t mind as much, but I find myself getting frustrated at the quickly inflating prices. Jewelry? Again, I rarely wear it. Gifts? Oh! Don’t even get me started! This last Christmas I found myself calling my Mom in a panic, not knowing what to buy anyone (and only wanting to purchase useful items, instead of dust collectors).

You see, the only time I even enter a mall is when I have a specific purchase in mind. I make a beeline for the store that will likely have what I’m looking for, walk straight to my desired purchase, cash out, and leave. I can physically feel myself getting anxious as I walk in. Perhaps it’s the number of people (although I’m pretty outgoing). Perhaps it’s the frustration of seeing so many families inside on a beautiful day. But I think, largely, it’s the fact that people spend money simply to waste time (double waste, really). I was about to go on a tangent about ethical shopping practices, and how our consumerist society is spurring on poverty in other countries, but I’ll leave that for another day.

Today, I will say this: I don’t like shopping, and I’m okay with that. Generally, it means that I have more cash in the bank, and I spend my time doing other things that I enjoy, and that will give me longer lasting rewards (reading, gardening, spending time with the hubby, saving for retirement).

Do you like shopping? What do you like shopping for?

P.S. Anyone in Toronto looking to purchase a slightly used Wii Guitar Hero Game? 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. And I Don’t Iron My Sheets « Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area pingbacked on 5 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * jenfletcher says:

    This is SO funny to me….I could have written this myself, almost word-for-word. (I guess I DO wear make up, just very little. Hate to scare people lol) It’s always comforting to know I’m “not the only one.” I hate to shop, and when I do, I know exactly what I want and go get it. I hate thinking about all the bargains I’ve probably missed because I’m not a browser…..but then I think of how much I’ve probably saved by not browsing and I feel a bit better.

    I do, however, like to shop for the yard. I love buying shrubs and trees and flowers and…and…and….If it weren’t for OUR Dave Ramsey budget, I’m sure that the yard and garden would be the leading cause of any credit card debt. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. LOL. Okay, that’s true. I, too, do like shopping for plants 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Candy S says:

    I do NOT like to shop… sorry if I was yelling. It frustrates me to no end. I have no patience for it. I really hate trying on clothes. Ok, I am better now. 🙂 Thank you…..

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • LOL. Thanks for sharing Candy! At least I know there are a few women like me 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


What are your thoughts?

