Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Soap Sliver Solution

Happy Friday everyone! For a change of pace, I thought that I would share with you one of my favourite tips of all time.

I would first like to thank my beautiful Mom (Happy Belated Mother’s Day/Early Birthday), who has been using this technique since I was little, and I’ve always thought it was a great idea. The dilemma: What do you do with all those little soap slivers you accumulate as you near the end of the bar? It feels like such a waste to throw them out. In an episode of The Simpsons, when money was rather tight, everyone was asked to tighten their bootstraps. Little Lisa decided to gather these random soap slivers and smoosh them all together into a soap ball. Well, this is a variation on that technique.

Take an old plastic container (I use an old yogurt container) and the plastic netting used to hold onions together (you may want 2, but that’s up to you). Then, you place the plastic netting in the plastic container, like you would put a garbage liner in a bin. Place all your old slivers into the netting. When you have enough, simply tie a knot in the netting, and you have an automatic loofah of sudsy soap bits šŸ™‚ I use the second netting to hold my next batch while I use up the current one.

P.S. It lather beautifully šŸ™‚ Just make sure that you have a soap saver (the plastic disc that creates a space between your dish and you soap), or else the soap will be very soft.

Do you have a way to use up old bits and pieces around the house?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Love it! What a great idea – I usually end up trying to mash it all into a ball.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • šŸ™‚ I find that the mashing doesn’t work all that well šŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
      • It does not, can’t wait to try your idea.

        Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  2. Great tip! Thrifty and luxurious.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • Thanks Christine šŸ™‚ I meant to include that I use it in the kitchen. That way not too many people think you’re a hobo šŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


What are your thoughts?

