Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



My House, Myself – Readytochangenow

I am very excited to feature our first guest blog post! Readytochangenow has been blogging for about 163 days, and I’ve really enjoyed her candid take on getting fit, getting out of debt, and chasing your dreams (hers is to climb Manchu Picchu). She has honestly, and openly, tackled the psychological, as well as the physical, aspect of taking back your life. If you haven’t already, please take a gander at her blog, Stopping The Wind.

My house, myself 

I want to thank Sort It Canada for inviting me to write a guest post – I have always enjoyed her blog and her amazing tips to clear the clutter of our lives.

When I was nine I moved from a standard, yet immaculate, upper middle-class home to a dilapidated house on the bad side of town that always seemed to smell of cooked meat.

I did not react well to the transition.

My new step-father was a hoarder and for the next 4 years we struggled against the tide of chaos.

Now 44, I have a very demanding job and am trying to radically change my life; the end result is a struggle against clutter – both in my mind and in my home.

I have three tools that work best for me when attempting to climb out of the wreckage.

Take Stock

Yes, I am one of those people – I make lists. When I have 40 things to do I tend to keep them in my head – they float around and knock into each other.

By writing them down, nice and orderly, I have room in my head to breathe.

The satisfaction of crossing an item off the list is my motivator –sometimes, that is all I need to find my momentum.

Start Small  

I have this mental image of sitting in a room stacked high with issues I need to deal with; work deadlines, phone calls, cleaning, maintenance, pets to brush, husband to love, plants to water.

I sit there like a brainwash victim trying to figure out how to fix it all.  It is the sitting that is the problem.

Do one thing, do it very well, and then move on.  Rather than deciding to clean the house, I clean a room. Once clean, nothing goes back into it but items that belong there.

This gives me a refuge from the chaos and evidence of my success.

Play Tennis 

We manage an incredible amount in our lives; information, people, responsibilities.  It is like standing in front of a tennis ball shooter while frantically trying to hit the balls while they fall to the court.

If I stop to pick them up, more will fall and I will never get ahead.  My strategy is to focus on the incoming balls first.  Once I find my rhythm, I can start to reach down and pick up a ball and knock it over.

This works only if I don’t try to track the ball once I hit it over the net.

One Life

I see no difference between my internal and external life.  Chaos inside equals chaos outside for me.

The advantage of this is that in order to clear my mind, I only need to first clear my house. I am committed to clearing out the clutter from both.

 Do you see the correlation between a clear mind and a calm house? How do you manage while “playing tennis”?
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Candy S says:

    I really like your strategy. I plan on taking notes. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. Thank you Candy S – I am taking notes myself!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


What are your thoughts?

