Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area


« | Home | Previous Post »

My Run and My Mat

Today is a day that I announce a couple of accomplishments.

1. I jogged 5 km continously for the first time in my life.

2. I completed my milk bag mat for Africa.

This is me after I completed my first 5K.

I live in Toronto, so when the weather became incredibly beautiful for about a week in March, I decided to start running (or jogging, really). I started off with 2 km, and decided to work my way up from there. My first day, I ran in intervals, telling myself to simply make it to the end of the street. The second time I went out, I wanted to run a little bit farther, so I was trying to make it to the fire hydrant about 20 meters beyond my first stopping (walking) point. However, as I neared the fire hydrant, I was amazed that I didn’t feel winded yet (which is usually what slows me down). So, I put up a farther milestone, but I passed that, too. I ran the whole way on my second run! Well, that did it for me. I was hooked.

I was trying to run 3 times a week, while increasing each week by about .5 km. Then I received an email update from WordPress telling me about the Worldwide WordPress 5K. I knew that I would have to step up my game if I was going to make 5 km in about a month and a half, so I increased it by 1 km two weeks in a row. I am really excited, and I hope to do another 5 km “run” in a couple of weeks to help support our local pregnancy care centre.

I also adore MapMyRun.com which is what I use to gauge my distance. I also “treated” myself by running through a ravine near our home. First time for everything!

Let me just say this: If I can do it, then anyone can ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love this quote: “Someone who is busier than ย you, is running right now” – Nike

Secondly, I completed my crocheted milk bag mat! I have been huffing and puffing through this one, so I am super excited to share this achievement with you. I wrote about this a couple of months back, and I just wanted to give you an update. Here is my original post. And here is me with my mat:

It will be sent off to Africa in a short little while. I will hopefully finish the last of my other mat that I have on the go, and then send off the remaining milk bags to Africa, where they now have a program where the people there crochet sleeping mats (bugs won’t nest in these), sandals, and bags to name a few. What a great cause!

What have you achieved this year that you would like to brag about? Please share! I want to know ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Great accomplishments, you should be proud! I’m down almost 10 ten pounds, and have managed to work out about 5 days a week. And, it is hard to make time for it. I could easily talk myself out of it. So, that’s what I’m bragging about.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • That’s awesome! I’m down about 12 lbs, so I know that great feeling. And I completely understand about talking yourself out of it. My run before this one almost killed me, then a man walking his dog gave me the thumbs up, and that got me going again. Gotta love random motivation! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing!!!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Sharon says:

    1) you running 5 km = Awesome!
    2) Completing your mat = Awesome! (how long did it take you?)
    3) I have lost 15lbs this year, and I dont want it back lol

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • Congrats Sharon ๐Ÿ™‚ The mat too far too long (easily over 20 hours – have to cut up the strips and tie them together, too). And congrats on the weight loss – you look fantastic!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Cyndie says:

    Congratulations Liz on the running and the milk bag mat. I’ve been saving milk bags but that is the first finished mat I have seen.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  4. โ€œSomeone who is busier than you, is running right nowโ€ โ€“ Nike
    Awesome! What a humbling quote. Well done on the running and the mat. I’m very impressed.
    I am most proud of getting rid of 10,000 plus things this year. The last hundred or so things have been slow, but I guess it’s like the last five pounds – always the hardest! And much like Sharon’s 15 lbs, I don’t want any of the 10,000 things back. : )

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • Thanks Christine. I was contemplating how to incorporate your AMAZING blog/adventure into mine. I’m not sure if I’m ready to challenge people yet, but I am certainly incredibly proud of you ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  5. What a great day – two big celebrations!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago


What are your thoughts?

