Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Use It or Lose It

This topic may seem similar, as I posted on something along these lines last year (You’ve Got It, So Use It), but who doesn’t like a little reminder now and then?

First, let me confess. I have a “collection” of those little floss containers you get from the dentist at your check ups. And by “collection” I mean 10. Seriously. Here’s the evidence:

It’s not that I don’t floss, I just don’t do it as often as I should. I’ve tried to remedy this by flossing on days with a “U” in them (Tuesday, Thursday and either Saturday or Sunday), so that if I don’t do it everyday, at least I’m flossing every week. Why? Because my husband told me that the plaque that’s on your teeth, and in your gums, can travel through your blood system, and build up in there. YIKES! That was enough to get me flossing more regularly…

Anyway, my point it this: I need to use this up before I purchase any more. And, if I’m not going to use it, then I can’t have it cluttering up my space. If you’ve ever seen our bathroom, you’d understand. But it’s not the size that matters, but the fact that anytime you want to get around it, you have to shuffle it around. And for what? If you’ll never use it, so why not let someone else be “blessed” by it?

Lastly, if you have so much of it that even if you used “it” at every opportunity, you still wouldn’t make a solid dent in it, perhaps you should split “it” and pass some of it on. Don’t let it bog you down just because you think you’ll use it “someday”.

What do you have an overload of? Will you ever use it? Please excuse me while I get to flossing 😀

P.S. While I haven’t completely depleted my body wash (please refer to above mentioned post), I’m getting near the end. Imagine that… But I haven’t bought anymore all this time! Saving space AND money!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I have a lotion obsession 🙂 Half full bottles everywhere. I am starting to take them one at a time and empty them before I allow myself to get more.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • Yup! I confess, I’ve got way too much lotion, too. That seems to be the gift of choice some years 🙂 I should part with some, too… Another post, perhaps? 😀

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. My rule of thumb for this is 6 months to 1 years’ worth of stuff. My DH & I use floss every day, at least once or more. The stash you’ve got there would last us about 6-9 months, so I’d just find a box to put it in and park it at the back of my (very deep) bathroom closet. As long as I remembered where it was AND I didn’t buy more, that’d be just fine.

    We’ve both got gum disease, and as that’s a major factor in coronary problems, flossing is easier and cheaper than both the oral surgery (worst thing I’ve ever had done) and heart problems, so we floss.

    If it were me? I’d get over my problem with flossing. Believe me, having someone drilling out your jaw isn’t fun, been there; done that. Flossing, although a pain, is MUCH easier than the alternative AND it can affect how long you live, the quality of that life too.

    Find a decorative basket with a top on it and stash the stuff, then use it.

    Your post caused me to go look. Right now we’ve got 7 floss containers. We’ll use up at least one probably this week or next at the latest. We use up one about every 3 weeks, between two of us.

    IHTH!

    teacup

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • Hi TC,

      I don’t mind flossing (especially with regard to the travelling plaque), it was more so that I would buy floss, yet still have the little minis all over. So, I’ve decided to use it up before I can purchase another… roll? Spindle? Hmm… Thanks for the reminder about the importance of oral health 😀 ~ Liz
      P.S. Do you have 6 months – 1 year’s worth for everything or primarily essentials?
      P.P.S. Space is at a premium in our bathroom, so “deep in the closet” wouldn’t work for us 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
      • Nope, don’t have 6 months of everything. Mostly just shelf-stable HB things: toothpaste, floss, shampoo, etc. if I find them on sale. .Not medicines I DO have a nice full sized closet in my bathroom, so I have the space.

        I winced when I reread the above; sorry for being so “preachy”! I really, really hated oral surgery, and I’ve done it twice now. I’ve even considered having the teeth pulled instead I hated it that much. But the dentist/oral surgeon convinced me that I’d be healther otherwise, and I’d STILL have the f’n gum disease. (I have an appt. with the periodontist (oral surgeon types) tomorrow, sigh.)

        Sorry for the preachy-ness!

        TC

        Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
      • Not at all!! I appreciate passionate comments 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

        Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


What are your thoughts?

