Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area


« Beware of Bags | Home | »

Keeping The Calendar

I love my physical, paper planner. I think it’s fantastic. I received this one courtesy of Quo Vadis through a LinkedIn seminar held by Margarita Ibbott. I love that it’s a week at a glance, and that it breaks up my day into half hour segments (although, you could consider it to be 1/4 hour segments, if you’re picky). I, personally, need a physical agenda. I know of plenty of people who use an online calendar (my husband, for one). I also know plenty of people who utilize the calendar on their cell phones (some of which may also be linked up to an online calendar, I know). However, I must have my paper planner! I love the creativity you can add to it using different writing techniques and doodles. I love theย accessibilityย of it (you don’t have to wait for it to load). I love the fact that I don’t have to worry about charging it every night to ensure I’ll be able to use it the next day. Here is my planner:

Okay, I’m not really that lame. I do have plenty of activities during the week. I’ve posted a week for April, so that’s why it isn’t too busy yet. However, you will note that I have colour coded my entries. I find it much easier to figure out how/where I’m spending my time when I’ve associated a colour with it. So, here’s my colour coded breakdown:

Blue ~ Toronto Willowdale Aquarium Society (Blue = water ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Brown ~ Tutoring

Orange ~ Brownies (Their uniform colour is now orange, not brown)

Green ~ My business (My business colour)

Pink ~ Personal

Purple ~ Church events

One of the reasons I chose these colours was because the pens that I use (Pilot Frixon) came in those colours. These pens are fantastic because they write smoothly, and they’re erasable! (No, I’m not getting paid to promote these products, I just love them that much). Now, I’ve also been able to transfer this system onto my wall 4-month at a time calendar:

 

I know that this image is a little difficult to see, so here’s a close up of March:

As you can see, I’ve been able to transfer the same colour coded system to my wall calendar as well.

I am a firm believer that every household needs to have a calendar that everyone has access to. If I’m trying to make plans, I can easily check our calendar and have a sense of what might be happening that day and vice versa for my husband.

But what happens when two worlds collide? My husband primarily uses his Google calendar to schedule things, and I’m an avid paper user. Our compromise? I have access to his Google calendar, so I can keep him up to date as to my plans, and he will put his commitments on our wall calendar. The other essential key? Communication. We regularly discuss what we’re doing, and how it might impact the other. This was particularly important when we were sharing one car, however we continue to do so today.

It is a matter of respect to the other people who share your life to inform them of your commitments. Writing everything out is also a great opportunity to visualize how you’re spending your time, and where your time may be used more wisely. Time is precious, we can never get it back.

Are you an electronic or paper calendar person?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 (Month 2 – 27) | Here's the Clean… pingbacked on 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. My Quo Vadis Planner Update « Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area pingbacked on 5 years ago

Comments

  1. * Susan says:

    I used to love going out and shopping for the best suited-to-me datebook! But since upgrading to a new iMac 2 years ago, I have been using iCal everyday. I still had a datebook for 2010, that I had to write things into while I was away from my office, but started to input all the data every night into my iCal calendar. Then once I got my iPhone mid 2010, I didn’t buy a paper datebook for 2011 and used only my electronic calendar. It has worked for me and enjoy using it! For archiving purposes I do print off the monthly calendar when it’s done… just incase something happens to the electronic version. I also do keep my datebooks for 7 years, along with my tax stuff.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • Thanks for sharing! I know there are electronic people out there, so I’m glad to hear from you ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. I am very bad about keeping a calendar. Funny, today as I was sorting through the Junk Room I found calendars from 1995 and 1996 that I started to toss until I looked at some of the entries and realized that I had marked down some very important occurrences in my life and set them back for further review.

    On the other hand, I think I found THREE of those purse-size organizers, all in various states of decay.

    I really do need to make an effort to do this, because — as I realized — for one thing, you can look back eons later and remember the good times and the bad.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • Thanks Adrienne ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you think you’d find an easier time with an online calendar? I also like that a calendar can help you reflect. Thanks again!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
      • I tried those in the past, and I do even worse with them. I think it is just a devil-may-care mindset that whatever happens today happens, and planning is overrated. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
      • LOL. To each their own ๐Ÿ˜€

        Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  3. * marijke54 says:

    I prefer a paper planner for the same reasons you do. However you can set an alarm on your cell phone. Nothing’s perfect.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • I am so glad that you love the Quo Vadis Planner. I keep mine in my bag at all times. I know if my computer or Blackberry are not working, my paper calendar is always there to save my bacon!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
      • Agreed! My planner conveniently sits in my purse. I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
      • I would love if you wanted to write a short blog post about it and send the Calendar. Just sayin’ ….

        Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
      • Sure! Thanks for the opportunity ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  4. ALas I am a chart person – but I love your color coding – everything should be color coded!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • You certainly are! It’s a great way to chart your progress, as you have been doing. But what about your daily appointments and reminders, how do you go about recording those?

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
      • I am spoiled – I use my I-Pad ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  5. ACtually, I should do both. I forget to transfer things to paper, but hate that I have no idea wtf my schedule is, because it’s all online. I do not access it via my phone; I’d be happy if i could do away with my cell phone honestly.

    Also, I really prefer the sensation of writing on paper, holding paper, etc. as opposed to keying anything and touching plastics.

    One of my long-term goals is to become better at this than I am. My current calendar stuff goes like this: look it up via email, and if I have to write myselfa daily to do list. This works, but it’s clumsier than I’d like.

    teacup

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • Thanks for sharing T! It really is a matter of creating a habit that you like, then sticking to it. There have been times where I’ve been lax with my planner, but then I pick it back up again when things get hectic. Have a great weekend! (Almost there!)

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


What are your thoughts?

