Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



But It May Come In Handy One Day!

We all have some “just in case” items. Toilet paper, canned goods, bottled water – things that we keep around the house because we anticipate needing them in the somewhat near future. Some are legitimate, like food and household staples, but others are long shot items that will likely never be needed.

I have found that as we start considering donating or tossing an item, we are more likely to part with it the next time we come across it. For example, if you have a large collection of books, and you think to yourself, “I don’t read most of these books anymore, nor will I go back to them in the future, but I’m just not ready to get rid of them yet”, the next time you go through your books, it will be easier for you to let go of them, because you haven’t used them between the initial thought of letting them go, and the second decluttering experience. Your justification for keeping them will no longer be supported (“but it might come in handy”). So, start asking yourself what do I rarely use, and no longer get joy out of owning? My husband challenges me on things, and I challenge him. As I think about it, I tend to realize that I don’t wear that top anymore, or I haven’t played that game in forever, nor do I plan on it. Sometimes it just takes another’s prodding to get you moving in the right direction.

The more stuff you have, the more energy it takes to maintain it. Also, the longer you hold onto an item, debating with yourself whether you’ll ever use it, or be able to, the less useful it will be to someone else. I have seen many items that were once in great condition deteriorate over time just by sitting around. The adhesive in books will break down. The elastic in clothes will dry out. Canned food will expire. Items that once could have been helpful to someone else, now have to be thrown out. Sometimes it is simply time that will be the difference between these two options:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, if you’ve considered tossing (or donating) an item for some time, perhaps it’s time to bite the bullet. If you haven’t used it in the last year, and you don’t get joy out of it, don’t let it take up your space and energy. Wouldn’t you much rather have items that bring a smile to your face when you look around your home?

What have you been debating about parting with? Will you take the plunge?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Great advice, as always! I need to keep this in mind as I go. I want to print this up and post it by my computer to keep me focused…but that would be one more thing around the house! I will bookmark it instead. 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  2. Thanks Adrienne 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Jen Fletcher says:

    Books were always so hard for me to part with, until I started logging onto our public library’s online catalog. If there was a copy at the library, I knew I could let go of it. I still DEFINITELY have books, but it’s been much easier to pass them on knowing I could always check it out of the library, instead of having them get dusty on our shelves. (Now to convince my son…..)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • Fantastic! I wrote a blog awhile back called “Books, Books, Books” and I mentioned the benefit of the library. Now my husband works for a book distribution company, so maybe I should keep my head down about it 😛 Thanks!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


What are your thoughts?

