Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Confessions of a Professional Organizer

Okay, I have to make a confession (or two). Whenever I tell people that I’m a Professional Organizer, they typically say, “Oh, I should come over to your house!” And I usually respond with, “Anytime!” But, really, the truth of the matter is this – my house isn’t always in Martha Stewart condition. I like to think that I keep a neat home, but sometimes things get hectic, I get overwhelmed, and I just don’t want to make decisions. However, because my home is organized, it doesn’t take me long to put things in their place, and bring my home back to livable conditions (yes, I’m being a little dramatic there).

Exhibit A ~ My kitchen

Granted, I was cleaning my oven at the time this photo was taken, but I do have some odds and bods (as my dear fellow organizer, Emily, would call them) below our built in microwave. Mostly there are papers,but there is also a set of speakers that my husband brought home from work last week, and the box to his new phone.

On the other side of my kitchen, you’ll notice some dishes in the drying rack (thank you to my mother-in-law for doing them 🙂 ) as well as our nifty popcorn maker, in need of wiping down.

So, I timed myself. It took me 18 minutes to go from left (before) to right (after), and that included cleaning up from cleaning my oven (but not the actual oven cleaning process – but that took far less time than I thought it would) and doing the dishes on the side. The benefit of a tidy counter? It’s SO much easier to wipe down!

Exhibit B ~ My Bedroom

Now, before you go off thinking that I live like a slob, let me explain a couple of things. Some of the clothing that you see on the floor is from our Christmas play that we had last Saturday (used as costumes). But some of it had built up from late nights and exhaustion.

But have no fear! It took me 35 minutes to go from before to after, and that included folding 2 loads of laundry (seen in the two laundry hampers on the left). It also forced me to tidy up my dresser, which I had been procrastinating about for some time (another one of my dirty little secrets).

The moral of the story is this: if you are organized, it won’t take you long to reclaim your space. It will also help keep you motivated to get tidied up. How do you find being organized helps you in your everyday life?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. And I Don’t Iron My Sheets « Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area pingbacked on 5 years, 2 months ago

Comments



What are your thoughts?

