Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



If The Lid Don’t Fit, You Must Acquit

The other day, a friend of mine asked me, “how do you deal with tupperware?” She was coming over for dinner later that week, so I told her that I would show her when she came. Well, we had so much fun that I completely forgot to show her! So, I figured, why not share with the rest of the world, too 🙂

I was “fortunate” to have to do some dishes today, so I simply threw them into my cupboard, rather than putting them away as I typically do, in order to depict what the average food container cupboard would look like. So, here you go (I apologize profusely that the images aren’t nearly at clear as I thought they were on my little camera screen. Noted for next time, though):

I imagine that this is what some (or many) of you face when you open your cupboard or tupperware drawer. Let me first recognize your environmental efforts! Thank you for saving our precious resources by not wasting tin foil and saran wrap. Also, let me also congratulate you on saving some money while you’re saving the earth!  Now, let’s get down to business.

After my initial photo, I took all of my containers out of the cupboard (including the lids). Then I matched up the lids to the containers I have. Here is a photo of the process:

If you look on my stove, you’ll see two Christmas containers that I received gifts in 2 years ago. I’ve set them aside with the plan to make goodies for our neighbours, for the holidays. If they are still in our house on December 26, they’re being donated. You may also notice that we have primarily Glad containers, but a few stray ones as well. Although I would love for all of our containers to be the same (my husband just lamented that he has the same aspirations), I do not like to spend money, especially on coordinating my lunch’s attire…

Upon going through our containers, I realized that we had quite a few lids with no partner! These lids can be seen in the foreground:

I had no clue that I had 7 lids mingling in my cupboard, trying to find a partner, to no avail. So, they are now residing in our recycling bin. The 3 containers on the right hand side (one with a white lid, one with a green lid, and one circular container) are being held onto for when someone comes over, and they take leftovers home with them. Hopefully they will take flight at our next Christmas party.

Lastly, I stacked the remaining containers inside one another. I took all the lids, and placed them into our largest container (seen in the middle). Fortunately, because most of our containers are similar, the lids fit nicely in one another.

As we speak, we are donating the three glass containers on the right hand side (ones my husband has had since his bachelor days, and haven’t been used more than 3 times in our 3 and a half years of marriage). The “beautiful” Ikea containers (red, white and blue) will also be moving on to greener pastures. So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye!

My confession: I did not take a photo including the bottom shelf because I didn’t like how it looked – cramped. When I took out the containers, I started looking for the lost bottoms for my lids. However, I ended up rearranging the bottom shelf, and in turn reorganizing that! Bonus! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. How is it that tupperware always seems to go missing? I agree though, that it is better than wasting all that tinfoil in the landfill.

    Perhaps time to peek into my cupboards at home. Or maybe get the kids to clean them out for crafts. (actually, that is probably where they went to in the first place) Or maybe I will just ask my wife when the last time she peeked into that cupboard was and then promptly duck. Huh, huh

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * sortitcanada says:

    Hahaha. Thanks Jim 🙂 I think that sometimes people use them just to transport items that don’t require a lid, and then “poof” they disappear! Hopefully they weren’t the good ones 🙂 It’s also a great opportunity for the kids to practice their matching skills… well, the younger ones at least 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  3. Matching skills – That it is, I guess!

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


What are your thoughts?

