Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



Lost and Found

Last week, 3 years after I moved out, I went over to my parents place to start clearing out the last of my belongings. It had been something I’d put off doing until my husband and I bought a house (almost 2 years ago now), then once we’d gotten settled (about a year ago), and then until I had no more excuses 🙂

As I was going through my old boxes, and taking a trip down memory lane, it amazed me the items I had completely forgotten I had, or just assumed they’d gotten lost in the move(s). I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was when I found my long lost Hanson CD (My husband? Not so much). There were a few other items that I smiled at, and proceeded to toss away, or recycle (no, not my Hanson CD). My Mom and I had a nice time going through items that sparked memories.

Now, let’s put a dollar value on this, shall we? One of the items that I found was an old keepsake box that I had cleverly put a cheap diary lock onto (for security purposes, you know?). I thought that I had they key at home, so I left it for the time being. When I got home, however, I realized that I had, at some point, thrown the key away. Well, as many brothers might have done in the past, I took a bobby pin to it and popped that sucker open. I was pretty confident that I had some old stickers in it (which I did), but I had forgotten about the $27 dollars in rolled change! So, what did I learn? Cleaning out my old stuff: $27. Getting my parents off my back: Priceless 🙂

You also have to understand that I am also a Brownie leader, with the Girl Guides of Canada, which means that I have enough craft supplies to construct a house, and then furnish it. Okay, that might be an exaggeration, unless pompoms and googly eyes have more structural strength then I give them credit for, but it is certainly more than I need, or will ever use. But when I was asked politely, but firmly, to finally get my things out of my parents’ house, I knew that they would be part of my battle. Fortunately, we’ve had a new unit open up and they are desperate for crafty things – problem solved! I once was lost, but now, am found.

I always tell my clients this: If you clean up, you will always find money. It may be a few cents. It may be Canadian Tire money. It may be a $20. But you always find money.

What are your thoughts?

