Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area



You’ve Got It – So Use It!

When my husband and I got married, we decided to try to be more conscientious about our spending. We wanted to bring our costs down, and pay some things off. So, I thought about ways I could help save. I thought about it, and I realized that I had a few bottles of shower gel that I could use up, thereby cutting down on the cost of soap for our family. It was a small gesture, but 3 years and 3 months later, I still have yet to buy body soap. I still have 3 bottles to use up, and lo and behold Christmas is right around the corner (I usually get 1 or 2 bottles). I have never asked for shower gel – I guess I just seem like that type of person (not that I’m complaining!).

How often do we accumulate things, but we don’t use them? We go out shopping, thinking “I could use a new pair of jeans”, meanwhile we’ve got 6 perfectly good pairs at home. Or, we buy a really nice throw pillow, but don’t have a place to put it? When you are purchasing items, try to visualize where it will go when you get home. If you already have items in that spot, where will those items go? Also, be weary of impulse shopping. You may really like something at that particular moment, but when you get it home, you may not be so enamoured with it anymore. If it is a large purchase, think about it for a couple of days. If you still really want it, then go through to process of what you will do with it when you get it home.

My husband will often bring up the “3 bottles of ketchup!” story. (We had a full bottle of ketchup in the fridge. I forgot about it, so I went out and bought another one. Then, I went to Girl Guide camp with my Brownies and brought home another mostly full large bottle). Have you ever gone out, and bought a food item, only to come home and realize that you’ve already got 6? The shopping list can be your friend! It will help you stay on budget, and avoid becoming a Costco warehouse šŸ™‚

Have you got ample amounts of something? Toilet paper? Pens? Reusable shopping bags? Take a walk around your home. Take a mental inventory of what you have, and make a note of items you do not need to purchase in the near future. Once you become aware of what you have, you can and will make more educated purchases.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Use It or Lose It « Sort It ~ Professional Organizing for the Toronto Area pingbacked on 5 years, 5 months ago

Comments



What are your thoughts?

